Yesterday I opened my email to find one from Harris Teeter announcing that the store I have shopped at locally in Gastonia was purchased by another company. I was quite sad, because I love shopping there, I have actually shopped at Harris Teeter since I first moved to North Carolina 16 years ago. I even worked in their corporate headquarters my first summer.  I just figured I would shop at the Harris Teeter that is a bit further away, the email didn’t really state that ALL the stores in Gaston County were being traded to this other company it did say that 6 stores were going there and that Harris Teeter was acquiring 10 of their stores, then I read this article in the local paper last night when I was glancing through the online edition  “Goodbye Harris Teeter, Hello Lowes” which was posted on June 1st, I hadn’t read the paper for two weeks so it is my fault that I didn’t see this sooner.

It seems that Harris Teeter is closing all their ‘rural’ stores in areas of the South East, they were as saying that they want to focus on the Urban Market.  I am still trying to wrap my head around that idea.

While I won’t be organizing an Occupy Harris Teeter movement, I am encouraging friends and readers to join in my little protest.

So first if you were notified that your HT is closing to become a Lowes, and you have a VIC Card return it to HT Corporate in Matthews NC.

Second, I just feel that everyone should tell Harris Teeter that what they have done is wrong and disloyal to customers in their home state. Here is their address and phone number.

Harris Teeter Inc
701 Crestdale Road
Matthews, NC 28105
(704) 844-3100

I will understand if you don’t want to do this or if the post gets removed, but just the idea that they are abandoning counties like Gaston, Catawba etc only because we aren’t Urban enough for them is just greedy and quite frankly very short-sighted of them.  Even with out my little blog they are going to lose many loyal customers.

