John 8:1-11

New International Version (NIV)

 

1 but Jesus went to the Mount of Olives.

2 At dawn he appeared again in the temple courts, where all the people gathered around him, and he sat down to teach them. 3 The teachers of the law and the Pharisees brought in a woman caught in adultery. They made her stand before the group 4 and said to Jesus, “Teacher, this woman was caught in the act of adultery. 5 In the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women. Now what do you say?” 6 They were using this question as a trap, in order to have a basis for accusing him.

But Jesus bent down and started to write on the ground with his finger. 7 When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” 8 Again he stooped down and wrote on the ground.

9 At this, those who heard began to go away one at a time, the older ones first, until only Jesus was left, with the woman still standing there. 10 Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

11 “No one, sir,” she said.

 “Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.”

I usually keep my political opinions to myself because I don’t really feel the desire to debate or discuss why I feel a certain way. For the record, I am a fairly conservative Christian who has very specific beliefs about things, but I know I can’t force my beliefs on another person, it is also not my job to condemn someone for their beliefs or actions I feel I am there to be a friend if they choose that and if in the future they want to explore my lifestyle I will share it with them.

Currently, I am so ashamed of my state senators.  They have decided to write a law banning gay marriages, okay that is fine they have that right, even though I disagree with it, I know I won’t be voting to approve it.  They have also been going around the state discussing the merits of a law defining marriage and said some really nasty things about Homosexuals, some towns in North Carolina, and just basically spreading hate.  So, let’s not be spewing hate and misinformation and saying that god condemns people who have made the choice to live this lifestyle openly.  I was pretty sure that this was 21st century not the 19th century.  I honestly can not see why law makers can’t see this as a legal issue and look at the financial benefits of a law that allows gay marriage, if they are having to file for a marriage certificate then they would also have to file for a divorce or separation if they find that the union doesn’t work out after all, gosh much like Heterosexual marriages.

The comments made by certain politicians remind me of a couple of stories in the Bible and what Jesus said to them.

http://www.gastongazette.com/news/group-60897-meeting-week.html

http://www.gastongazette.com/news/marriage-60714-senate-gaston.html

http://www.gastongazette.com/news/marriage-60684-state-one.html

At least one local politician sees the light

http://www.gastongazette.com/articles/manners-60850-better-mayor.html

I say get the government out of legislating our Morality and allow the church to do that.

